Who We Are

Our Founder


Mrs. Ann Rubenstein Tisch

Founder and President

Ann Rubenstein Tisch is the Founder and President of Young Women's Leadership Network (YWLN), an organization that operates The Young Women's Leadership Schools (TYWLS), a network of all-girls public schools, and CollegeBound Initiative (CBI), a co-ed college access program.

Ann's vision was to provide students growing up in low-income communities with a high-quality college preparatory education modeled upon the finest private schools. In 1996, Ann partnered with the New York City Board of Education to open The Young Women's Leadership School of East Harlem, the first public all-girls school to open in the United States in 30 years. YWLN now serves five high-performing schools in New York City, serving more than 2,500 students. The success of TYWLS has inspired the opening of more than a dozen single-sex schools nationwide, including affiliates in Illinois, Maryland, Missouri, New York, North Carolina, and Texas. Shortly after TYWLS of East Harlem was opened, CBI was created to provide comprehensive college guidance programming. CBI now serves more than 18,000 low-income students at 34 high-need public schools in New York City. 

A native of Kansas City, Missouri, Ms. Rubenstein Tisch began a 19-year career in broadcast journalism at WIBW-TV in Topeka, Kansas.  She then moved to WCOO-TV in Minneapolis, Minnesota and later joined NBC Network News as a National Correspondent. As a National Correspondent, Ms. Rubenstein Tisch developed a strong interest in educational issues. After covering dozens of education stories for the network, as well as reading and studying data on single-sex education, she was inspired to create an all-girls inner city public school to serve disadvantaged families. In 1996, with the unanimous approval of the New York City Board of Education, Ms. Rubenstein Tisch turned her idea into a reality and opened The Young Women’s Leadership School of East Harlem.

Ms. Rubenstein Tisch was educated at Washington University in St. Louis, where she graduated Summa Cum Laude with a degree in Psychology and Sociology.  She currently serves as a Trustee on the Board of Washington University in St. Louis. She also serves on the Dean’s Council of The New York University Tisch School of the Arts and is a Trustee of the Center for Educational Innovation.  She is currently consulting with many school districts and parent groups across the country about creating schools similar to The Young Women’s Leadership Schools. 

Board Of Directors

  • Ms. Jennifer Powers, Chair of the Board
  • Mrs. Ann Rubenstein Tisch, President
  • Mr. Andrew H. Tisch, Vice President
  • Mr. Seymour Fliegel, Treasurer
  • Ms. Debra A. Lewin, Secretary
  • Ms. Stephanie Drescher, Board Member
  • Ms. Lindsay Gruber Dunham, Board Member
  • Ms. Gertrude Erwin, Board Member
  • Ms. Lora Giampetruzzi, Board Member
  • Mr. Larry Lavine, Board Member
  • Ms. Terri McCullough, Board Member
  • Ms. Karen Mitchell, Board Member
  • Mr. James Montoya, Board Member
  • Ms. Maria Cristina Gonzalez Noguera, Board Member
  • Ms. Jeanne Nowaczewski, Board Member
  • Ms. Phebe Farrow Port, Board Member
  • Mr. Brad Ruskin, Board Member
  • Ms. Romita Shetty, Board Member

Staff Leadership

Leadership Council

  • Rebecca Hoffman Bach, Ernst & Young
  • Alessandra Baker, Alessandra Mackenzie LLC
  • Stephanie Barksdale, Verizon Communications
  • JoLynn Barone, KPMG US
  • Susan Becker, Loews Corporation
  • Lynn Carfora, Sapphire Search & Solutions
  • Danielle Corcione, Day Pitney
  • Samantha Davidson, Goldman Sachs
  • Lisa DeCarlo, Wells Fargo
  • Alexandra Friedman, LOLA
  • Sarah Hammond, Beacon Staffing Inc.
  • Patrice Healey, E Trade
  • Elaine Hutchinson, Mitsubishi UFJ Securities
  • Lauren Jia, Macquarie
  • Melissa Mcnamara, Macquarie
  • Purnima Menon, Google
  • Jennifer Meyers, PwC
  • Laura Mignott*, DigitalFlash
  • Nathalie Sajous, Google
  • Shamina Sneed*, Morgan Stanley
  • Courtney White, Pure Growth Partners
  • Whitnee Williams, Cassidy Turner
  • Julianna Young*, Nomad Health
  • * =, (FY18 Co-Chairs)